Do you have questions about how home inspections work?  Our frequently asked questions page is a great place to find a quick answer or just general information.

Do I have to get a home inspection?

Most mortgage companies require a home inspection. The buyer will request one after the seller accepts an offer on the home.

Are there different types of home inspections?

There are 4 types of home inspections:

  1. Home buyers inspection
  2. 4 point inspection
  3. Pre-sale inspection
  4. Wind mitigation inspection

 What is a 4 point inspection?

A 4 point inspection is generally required by your insurance company on homes 25 years and older. The home inspection consists of:

  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • HVAC
  • Roof

 What is a home inspection?

It is a visual inspection that helps a buyer recognize potential problems in or around the home that may need repair in the future, as well as costly issues that may be missed by the seller and buyer.

This inspection consists of:

  • Roof, vents, flashing’s, and trim
  • Gutters and downspouts
  • Skylight, chimney, and other roof penetrations
  • Decks, stoops, porches, walkways and railings
  • Eaves, soffits, and fascia
  • Grading and drainage
  • Basement, foundation, and crawlspace
  • Water penetration and foundation movement
  • Heating system
  • Cooling system
  • Main water shut off valve
  • Water heating system
  • Interior plumbing fixtures and faucets
  • Drainage sump pumps with accessible floats
  • Electrical service line and meter box
  • Main disconnect and service amperage
  • Electrical panel(s), breakers, and fuses
  • Grounding and bonding
  • GFCI’s and AFCI’s
  • Fireplace damper door and hearth
  • Insulation and ventilation
  • Garage doors, safety sensors, and openers
  • And much more

 Will a termite inspection be included?

With a buyer’s home inspection, the home Inspector will check for signs of termites and recommend a certified termite inspection if needed.